NIH Coordination and Management

NIH and the NSTC Committee on Science


Within the White House’s Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), the Cabinet-level National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) is the principal means for the President to coordinate science and technology policy across the Federal research and development enterprise.

As directed under Executive Order 12881, the NSTC Committee on Science (CoS)  addresses significant national and international policy, program, and budget matters that cut across agency boundaries as well as provides a formal mechanism for interagency science policy development, coordination, and information exchange.  

The current co-chairs for the CoS are the:
• NIH Director: Dr. Francis Collins
• National Science Foundation Director: Dr. France Córdova
• OSTP Associate Director for Science: Dr. Jo Handelsman

CoS Subcommittees and Interagency Working Groups (listed below) coordinate interagency efforts to address specific mandates, areas of science, and related issues. Expert representatives from across the NIH Institutes, Centers, and the Office of the Director participate in the subcommittees

• Interagency Working Group on Neuroscience
• Life Sciences Subcommittee (LSSC)
    o Aquaculture Interagency Working Group
    o Scientific Collections Interagency Working Group
    o Plant Genomics Interagency Working Group
• Physical Sciences Subcommittee
    oSubcommittee on Social and Behavioral Sciences (SBS)
    o Research Business Models Interagency Working Group
    o Science of Science Policy Interagency Working Group
    o Language and Communication Interagency Working Group



OSP staff facilitate the coordination and reporting of NIH’s participation in NSTC activities as well as provide support for the following senior NIH leaders:

·    Director: Dr. Francis Collins (CoS Co-Chair)

·     Associate Director for Science Policy: Carrie Wolinetz (LSSC Co-Chair)



For additional information, please contact Elizabeth Baden ( ) and David Kosub ( via email.